SiEntries Options
Login / Register

Mountain Run - Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation

Series Details
Mountain Run - Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation

Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation | Beginner to Intermediate | Follow up to Online Navigation for Ultra Runners


If you have taken one of our 'Online Ultra Navigation Masterclass' sessions then this is the 'practical' follow up to that session.

Who is it for?

  • Anyone who has undertaken the Online Ultra Navigation Masterclass with Mountain Run
  • Trail or Ultra Runners who want to build confidence with their navigation
  • Anyone wanting to get a good foundation in navigation techniques

What to expect?

  • A professionally delivered course, designed by Mountain Runners for Mountain Runners.
  • 3 hours out and about, practical navigation
  • Tips and tricks to keep you in contact with the map
  • Expert coaches/instructors to learn from
  • Elite mountain runners delivering the course, who are extremely passionate and knowledgable about their subject

What we will cover: 

  • Understanding different Scales & Maps
  • Developing contour interpretation, recognising different features
  • Map Orientation - how and why
  • Setting and using a bearing
  • How to use the techniques of; hand-railing, collecting and catching features
  • Skills to relocate yourself
  • How to deal with the effect of darkness and tiredness on your navigation

Course locations and dates:

  • Ratley Village, The Cotswolds. Old Road car park, Ratley, OX15 6DL. 1 hour drive from M25/ M40 junction | Meeting time: 09:00
    Sunday 17th January
    Saturday 13th February
    Saturday 20th March
    Sunday 25th April

  • Bowland. Fell Foot, Chipping, Lancs | Meeting time: 09:00
    Sunday 31st January
    Saturday 27th February
    Saturday 27th March
    Sunday 18th April
Courses in this Series

To book you must first Log In or Register your Details with SiEntries.

Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation - Cotswolds - Sat 13 Feb 21 (Bookings Closed)
Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation - Bowland - Sat 27 Feb 21 (Bookings Closed)
Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation - Cotswolds - Sat 20 Mar 21
Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation - Bowland - Sat 27 Mar 21
Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation - Bowland - Sun 18 Apr 21
Ultra/Trail Practical Navigation - Cotswolds - Sun 25 Apr 21